THE VARANASI DIARIES – BACK TO PAVILION

5-01-2013

9:07 p.m

reporting from the upper berth of coach AB1, Bibhuthi express

Boarded the train at around 6 p.m from Varanasi and thanks to my uncle that he came to see me off but as Indian railways have it, there was a last minute platform number change which lead to a huge chaos. Panic was the worst part but still we pulled it off together.

Big thing is, the whole compartment is mostly filled by my mom’s colleagues and when they are not bitching about their course directors, they are either discussing their work policies or philosophies of life. My mom has not stopped chatting from the time I met her in the station. I asked her if the shutter will ever close or not. I am the lost star here as I climbed up to this upper berth and plugged in the earphones, escape!

We have  this family for company now, mamma, papa and a little kiddo who is giving strict glances to these chatterboxes. There is this man who has the knowledge about everything and is very sweet to leave the “lower berth” to my mom. Indians and their fantasy for lower berths! I met two of my teachers whom I have known for 8 years now, I was happy. 🙂 

There are two guys who keep on moving through the compartment and I wonder when will they stop banging doors and think of something better than just doors?! 😛 Another man, who is basically a human manufacturing default put in a weird packet is shouting “go go” to his children whenever they are standing in the middle of the passage or going to the toilet and one of his produce is shouting for chocolates!

Life around the globe is chaotic and I suddenly remember a friend who once narrated a story about rains written by him. I can’t tell you the story right away but it was beautiful. 🙂

This is the last post of the series “THE VARANASI DIARIES”  but as they say every good thing has its end and the journey has come to an end too. Lets see when will I get a chance to escape again! 🙂

Phew..! I feel tired and sleepy now, I will catch some. The train kisses Howrah in the morning if not feeling lazy and the kid is still screaming! 😐

My mother has finally ceased speaking and there is a bit of peace now.

…and if you ask me what did I bring back, I would say I have brought back a rejuvenated self home, I am ready to throw things that caused me pain in my life and welcome the good. I am calmer than ever and I guess I will face my existing issues better. 😀

All’s well that ends well. 🙂

Sleepy-head says:

Good night! 😀

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ayan says:

    Your writing is good, but there are a lot of grammatical mistakes! If you don’t mind, I could point out some…

    1. creepycouch says:

      Sure. Help please. 🙂

      1. Ayan says:

        thanks to my uncle for seeing me off
        change which led to a huge chaos
        Panic was the worst part but we still pulled it off together.
        the whole compartment is mostly filled with my mom’s colleagues
        I asked her if the shutter will ever close (“or not” is not required during narration, more apt if you were quoting)
        and I wonder when they would stop banging doors and think of something better than just doors? (this is quite artful, btw 😉 )
        Another man, who is basically a human manufacturing default with a weird packaging!
        Lets see when I would get a chance to escape again!
        I feel tired and sleepy now, I will catch some (what? mosquito?)
        and if you ask me what I brought back, I would say I have brought back a rejuvenated self home!

Leave a Reply

