NO MATTER WHAT

The walk was long and so was the time

no song, no rhyme I remember

no lullabies that you sung to me,

I remember not the words you spoke,

of me, about them, at all

but I still remember you, I do.

The walk was long and so was the time

we built that wall, strong, between us

no light came in when it all went black

no sound could overpower the silence

between us, not the world, only us

but I still ponder over it, I do.

The walk was long and so was the time

take it all away if you had to

my wishes too and my pain alike

take it all away, along with you, far

disillusioned horizons, mundane flickering hopes

but I still whisper it all in pray, I do.

for I know a land, a land

where the waves flow back in tide

for I know a sea, a sea

where there is a wishing tree

for I see a dream, a dream

where my world is an utopian field

but I still run ahead in time, I do.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. umashankar says:

    It is a beautiful poem. The refrains emphasize and multiply the pain, the imagery intensifies the emotion.

    1. creepycouch says:

      I am glad that you liked it! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

