“With love, Rheta” : My entry for the Get Published contest

The Idea:

The story revolves around a college goer, 20 year old Rheta. She fell in love with a boy, older than her years back in school. The narration traces their relation through the transition periods of their lives. Teenage prepares a cast of what a person will become in the coming years of his/her life but what happens when a confused teenager, who is standing on the crossroads of life falls in love with a boy who is well past that age, successful in his own terms and determined. Life unfolds itself suddenly and most of our reactions are so impromptu that even we fail to analyse those while reacting. The protagonist, Rheta writes a letter to the boy and signs it as – with love, Rheta. The content of the letter, is what, will tell us the dynamism of their relationship. Captured moments of the mind amalgamated with Rheta’s perception of those moments forms the essence of the story.

What Makes This Story ‘Real’:

Almost all of us can relate to the tantrums of teenage and the nuances decision making brings along with it. This story is not a fantasy of an young girl but a real life situation.

Extract:

“Rheta grasped his arms, her eyes wide open, moving around to check if someone can see them here. She can feel him breathe on her, on the side of her neck, she wraps him tighter, slowly her fear has started to subside and the feeling of the first physical intimacy has spread its wings over her senses. A silent teardrop slips out of Neel’s eyes, as he kisses the girl for whom he waited so long, so patiently.”

“I never came to you but I crawled, slowly, took my time to find my way, to you. You were already in love, no denial was ever seen in your eyes. They all said that you loved me but I still wonder, why did you have to lock me up in a cage? Is it how love should be? I don’t have accounts to settle neither I have questions, all I have now is a void, numbed are my limbs and my emotions. I can still feel you beside me but I can see you fade, as if, you are crawling away.”

Endnote

This is my entry for the HarperCollins–IndiBlogger Get Published contest, which is run with inputs from Yashodhara Lal andHarperCollins India.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Ayan says:

    Nice idea…where’d you get it from 😛 “Real Life”??

    1. creepycouch says:

      If I get the permission to tell the story, you will eventually get to know to whom the reality belongs! 😛

  2. good luck…i really like the way you narrate a story.

  3. neat start. I m sure, it will be worth reading the full story. good luck 🙂

    1. creepycouch says:

      Thank you. Lets see what’s in store now! 🙂

  4. Debanjan says:

    Seems like a wicked idea! Good luck! and looking forward to reading this.

  5. HI,
    I liked you idea; that is one aspect of love; love to read it. so i ‘liked it’

    I have two ideas please see them; and if you like them please promote.

    http://www.indiblogger.in/getpublished/idea/265/
    http://www.indiblogger.in/getpublished/idea/214/

    all the best:)

    1. creepycouch says:

      I will for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

